Oh, you know, just another Half Marathon.

A half-marathon at Ft. Benjamin Harrison whose butt Sara and I kicked! Which butt? How should that sentence be written? I don’t care; it was amazing. I have never finished a race running harder or with less left. Again a sentence that doesn’t make much sense, but so it goes.

On Saturday, my good friend Sara and I ran the 17th annual Indianapolis Half Marathon at the historic Ft. Benjamin Harrison State Park. The day started dark, cold and stuff. I was (and still am, sadly) fighting a nasty chest cold. Mucus, coughing, snot – if it was ugly, I was it. Turns out Sara caught the same bug, so we were in the same boat. Nonetheless, we started our half-marathon series this year together with the Indianapolis Mini Marathon in May (my first ever half!) and were determined to give this one our all (I’m just full of cliche colloquialisms today). None for being extremely hilly and extraordinarily beautiful, neither of us had any aspirations of finishing fast – we just wanted to finish.

half-marathon, running, 13.1, Ft. Benjamin Harrison, Ft. Harrison, run, runner, event, race

Sara and I before the race. I’m both freezing and covering my bib so they don’t put me in a different corral.

And finish we did – in amazing times! Something like 1:52:35. More than five minutes faster than my Mini time! I never could have done it without the help of Sara. She’s stronger on hills, and mile 11 was basically a hill. A mile long hill. She pushed me to run my heart out until the end (which was much farther away than I wanted it to be, no lie). I finished exhausted, ecstatic, and in pain. There were muscles in my butt hurting that I didn’t even know I had (because they’re under developed as I have a flat butt, jokes aren’t funny when they’re true).

Finish, medal, heat blanket, water, banana, and a lovely post-race cookout by Kids, Inc. – and some delicious Starbucks – capped off the morning. Kaleb took me for a pizza and beer dinner date (after a nap) followed by sleeping. It was a great day.

Sunday I woke up in even more pain and with an even worse chest cold, however a power cup of coffee led to an afternoon of power cleaning and seeing The Citizen (thanks to Heartland Truly Moving Pictures) with Brittani of Moral of the Story and her boyfriend Nic. I had my first diet coke in like, six months weeks and perked up. The movie was exceptional and finished the weekend off well.

I’m finishing out this recovery week before I kick it back into gear with Project: Do Something Other Than Run. Classes with Maria of Like the Lettuce and Mauren if I can get to the Y in time. This weekend brings Halloween, Tom and Lenore’s wedding, and hopefully some sleep!

How was everyone else’e weekend? Don’t you love recaps on Thursday nights?

Your Thoughts?

